News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Never put your keys in the accessory tray under the seat!

Started by YellowJacket!, August 04, 2009, 03:00:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Had a major Home moment today.  I had the seat up while working on the extra brake lights and had to take off the left side under seat plastic.  Hmmmm...methinks, the accessory tray looks like a nice safe place to rest my keys, so I took the key out of the lock and dropped it into the tray and while I was removing the plastic, KLUNK!  Down comes the seat.  Yup, locked my keys in my motorcycle.  On the stupidity scale, its somewhat in line with locking yourself INSIDE your car.
So, I ended up carefully bending back the front of the seat and shimming it with a block of wood as I carefully snaked my grabber in blindly until I snagged the key.  Whew.
I think I was just demoted to ROV Newbie!   :police:

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

h2olawyer

That's a great D'Oh! moment!  I nearly did that myself once.  Since then, I open the seat lock & then put the key into the ignition to keep it out of the way.  I also have a spare key I keep in the house.  These bikes originally came with two keys, btw.

Thanks for the chuckle - at your expense.   :D

H2O
If you have an accident on a motorcycle, it's always your fault. Tough call, but it has to be that way. You're in the right, and dead -on a bike. The principle is not to have any accident. If you're involved in an an accident, it's because you did not anticipate. Then, by default, you failed.

GT @ oh.

Kevin

Oops! As a side note, the first thing I remove on a Vision is the manual seat lever.

funkamongus

Sounds like something I would do!! Glad it worked out for ya!
I own:
1982 Maico 250 alpha 1... free
1982 Virago XV920J........ free
1982 Vision XZ550RJ....... 100.00
1972 BMW 75/5 W/toaster tank,  I babysit.