News:

Main Menu

Lets all go live with H2O

Started by YellowJacket!, July 14, 2008, 09:35:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

According to the news today (Money Magazine), Fort Collins, CO. is the second best city in the US to live in.  Looks impressive.  There was something in the story though about one street with a house full of party'ers that kept it out of the #1 slot...but that its standings may rise next year. (JK)

CNN link: http://money.cnn.com/magazines/moneymag/bplive/2008/snapshots/PL0827425.html

Congrats H2O

Knoxville TN was #1 on the list the first two years I lived here.  After that, it dropped off the list entirely. Coincidence?   :o

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

h2olawyer

This USED to be a great place to live.  It's grown too much and the current city council wants to give a ton of services, but is so unfriendly to attracting new business or industry that the tax base is diminishing - in actual dollars (as opposed to growing, but at less than anticipated figures).  Businesses are moving out of Ft. Collins and headed for surrounding towns like Loveland, Windsor & Greeley.  This year's city budget is actually about 3% smaller than last year's.  At the same time, the city grew by more than 4,000 people.

The interchange at I-25 & US 34 was annexed by Loveland a few years ago.  There's now a big, beautiful shopping center on the east side of I-25 & the area Outlet Mall on the west.  Poudre Valley Hospital - in Ft. Collins since before 1900 - built it's new hospital in that same area.  A new Wal-Mart Supercenter is being built in Windsor - after they closed their standard Wal-Mart in south Ft. Collins.  The former jewel of Ft. Collins retail - the Foothills Mall is about 60% occupied and dropping.  The only growth in retail in this town is grocery stores.  Everything else is dropping.