YICS Fix! It really works!

Started by YellowJacket!, June 11, 2011, 09:39:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

OK, I've been rebuilding my YICS - and a few others - for several years.  For the most part, I followed Lucky's instructions on his website and split the YICS in hald, sanded down the edges, and resealed it with a rubber/fiber gasket and red RTV.  For the most part it works and I've had a few last longer than a year.

It seems that the most common failure though is an INTERNAL leak between both chambers on the repaired YICS.  I've been experimenting with the ways that I repair them and never really could find a good way to reseal the inner septum (the thing that divides the two chambers).  I've even thought of sanding the insides of the chambers clean, resealing it and using a syringe to inject some POR-15 inside and coating the inner chamers with it.

Aside from finding someone with a CNC machine and the willingness to work for free, I decided rather to "think outside the box".  I found that on several of my failed seals that exerting just a little bit of pressure in the septum would stop the leak.  While it is not practical to squeeze my YICS while I'm riding, I decided to try the next best thing.

I drilled through each chamber and used a long bolt with two washers and a locknut to gently squeeze the chambers back together and it worked!  I tightened it just enough to make the leak go away but still preserved the bit of flexibility that a few of us feel makes these things work.  Its a bit ugly so I'll call it my prototype 1.  Also, the bolts stick up too far to allow me to use the chrome cover so I'll be driving around with a naked YICS fully exposed.  Oh well, its in the name of progress...

Anyway, after a bit of pressure testing and no leaks at all, its ready to go back on YJ for some field trials.  If I can conclude that it works, then I'll work on a better way of bolting the halves together and still be able to use the chrome cover.