News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Intermitten problem

Started by Kevin, September 21, 2008, 10:05:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin

My son has his 82 V at college, he called and says it starts and runs ok for a while and then it sounds like one cylinder drops out and  tachmeter quits working. The revlimiter wire has been cut. This problem comes and goes very abruptly. Where do I start?   

YellowJacket!

I would check the plug wire and see if it is not only tightly sealed into the coil but firmly seated on the plug as well.  Check that first.  Could be a bad coil - I have an extra one.  Could also be a bad plug.  My money is on the coil/plug wire as thats where the tach gets its signal from (I think) ;D

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Tiger

:) Kevin, if you haven't already done so, go down to your local motorcycle shop and buy a yard of "premium" plug wire, 2 x new plug caps and 2 x new D8EA spark plugs... ;)

8).......TIGER....... 8)
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming HOOOOYA lets go again baby !!!!!!

'82 Vision, Pearl Orange finish, lots of up-grades!!!

Rick G

I find real wire core plug wire at small engine shops, Napa quit carrying it.
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

Coil Coyle

Kevin,