News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Float Charger

Started by Re-Vision, July 09, 2009, 08:27:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Re-Vision

Was looking at the little float chargers at the local shop today, two different kinds both with pigtails. $35 to $45.  Anyone care to recommend a particular charger, price, and place to buy it?   BDC

YellowJacket!

I got one at wal-mart for about 29.00.  Its a "Schumacher Battery Companion" and looks to be in every respect, identical to the Battery Tender JR.  Came with the pigtail and clamps.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

xswheels

I prefer the Deltran Battery Tender line of chargers, even the Jr model is more sophisticated than other cheap copies. I have both the Battery Tender Jr and a Schumacher Maintainer 1.5 Amp. The Jr charges at a max 0.75 amp and will progressively descend to 0.10 amps until it establishes its float mode. A battery will accept a deeper charge if it is done at low amperage. As a test, I applied the Schumacher to my 3 year old V-Strom battery and it instantly went to float mode. I then attached the Battery Tender Jr. and it supplied a charge for 15 minutes before going to float mode.
Get the Battery Tender, they are the real deal.

QBS

Most definately, what xswheels said, for sure.

funkamongus

I have the tender Jr..it worked well, but be warned,, it is NOT maintenance free... You must keep an eye on your fluid if its not a sealed gel battery.. I had a new battery, with the tender on it in the cold garage in tahoe, for about 5 weeks before checking,, it was nearly dry, it can, and will, boil your battery dry.... I got very lucky... Check your fluids often and save yourself some $$$.
I own:
1982 Maico 250 alpha 1... free
1982 Virago XV920J........ free
1982 Vision XZ550RJ....... 100.00
1972 BMW 75/5 W/toaster tank,  I babysit.
PICS ARE AT http://picasaweb.google.com/funkamongus20?feat=email