News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

New to motorcycles... Have ?'s

Started by MercOne, November 20, 2005, 01:16:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MercOne

So I ended up purchasing a 1983 550 vision. It cost me all the great 200 bucks, my questions are: Is there anyplace I can find a complete detailed listing of its specs, where can I purchase parts for it, and what are some good cheap upgrades for it? Remind you, im new to motorcycles, I have 3 friends that work on em for a living so they will help me whenever they can, I just need some input on what I should do.
So far its in pretty good condition, 5000 miles on it purchased from origional owner. Its been sitting for a year because the carbs needed to be rebuilt. With it being sitting for a year, im going to assume im going to need to rebuild the engine to flush out all the fluids thats been sitting there, and clean out the gas tank. What are the major things I should be concerned about to get this going and running like new?

MercOne

Coil Coyle

Merc,
? ? ? ? ? Welcome to ROV!? ?Please read

http://ridersofvision.net/forum/index.php?topic=3818.msg30368#msg30368

? ? ? ? ?Then post your answer to that test in this thread.
This is the first step of deciding what you have ahead of you. It could be way simpler than you think. Lots of experienced owners will be on to guide you, don't assume you have to do something, let experience guide you as you check out what shape your bike is really in. Post everything you find and someone will give you the next step.

$00.02
;)
coil

h2olawyer

Welcome, Merc!