Main Menu

Stator failures

Started by gbranche, October 18, 2005, 02:43:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gbranche

On the recent CROV gathering in Kingman, we had two stators fail out of the five Visions that attended. That's a 40% failure rate. Both failures occurred after a high-speed (75 MPH), long distance (98 miles) run at the end of a long day of riding (335 miles total). Being a software engineer, I'm fairly good at seeing patterns, and I'm beginning to see one here. In an attempt to identify a trend, I thought that those that made the trip (both those that had the stator failure, and those that didn't) could provide some details that may help identify the root cause of the stator failures that we all seem to experience. If there's anybody else with any relevant data (not anecdotal, please), feel free to contribute.

What brand of stator do/did you have installed? (Yamaha, Electrex, Ricks, etc.)

How long has the stator been in service? (time/miles)

Have you relocated your voltage regulator?

What type of engine oil do you use? (synthetic/dino? brand? weight?)

What position does the needle on your temp gauge normally occupy on a sustained ride such as this?

There are probably some other questions that should be answered to add to the collective knowledge of this topic, but I can't think of them at the moment. This will be a good start, though.

Greg

fiddlesticks

When mine went it was a yammyhammy OEM. I think it was around 12k. Consequently It was replaced with another used OEM. NOt 100%sure because Squid bought my bike,but I think this one has gone south too.
The regulator was not relocated at the time of the first faliure, but he may have moved it afterwards.(maybe he'll post and let us know)
I was running semisynthetic.
Temp needle was normally around the middle after decent ride.
1 Black 82 Virago 750

"With Frongs like that you don't need anemones"

MotorPlow