Stator - extra tasty crispy - alternates avail??

Started by SteelViper383, July 27, 2002, 11:52:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SteelViper383

Hi, I am new to the new ROV forum, I was a member of the old one a year or so back though.  I am just getting back to working on my bike and have gotten a lot done, but its come down to the stator.  Mine was charcoal when I pulled it out, and the oil smelled burned so I know that is trash.  I was reading the stator FAQ and say something in there about using a Honda or Kaw. stator instead.  I like this idea cuz I can get a used (good cond.) Kaw. KZ550 stator for $10.  Which is more what I want to spend rather than $125 for a used vision or $140 for a new from electrex.  I guess my question here is how much of the other bikes system do I need?? The $10 is just for the stator, not the pickups or anything else.  Do I need the Kaw pickups?  Are mine likely fried along w/ the stator?  Also IS there a way I can test the Reg/Rec and if that is toast are there any I can use from other bikes??  I'm trying to do this as cheaply as possible, because I am quickly approaching the price I paid for the bike in repairs.

Thanks in advance,
        Jace

Lucky

Generally speaking you shouldn't need to touch the pick-up's unless the stator wires got so hot they melted the pick-up wires also.
as to weather a stator is all you need, follow the Electrex Fault finding chart so that all the oter components of the charging system can be tested as well.
--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

Shwuz

Oooh, I almost got caught by this one too...

I read it again, and it's actually the regulator/rectifier that you can swap out with the honda/kaw, not the stator...

"For reg./rect.replacement,throw the yamaha part in trash,go to salvage yard,use either Honda or Kaw."