Weep hole weeping

Started by Kiwi, September 11, 2010, 09:27:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kiwi

I noticed a decent amount of fluid came out of my coolant weephole.  The hole near the coolant pump.
Enough fluid came out that it started making smoke comming off my exhaust pipe.
Is this normal?
It was a 30 min ride, and the engine got warm enough to start the fan.
US 82 XZ550 with the flapper Airbox

Re-Vision

I just took an old cracked case and removed the water pump impeller. If it is more than a weep then it not normal, seals are allowing water to get past. Yamaha recommends taking to a dealer because special tools are required to replace seals. I'd buy a used side cover before I would mess with it. Not being a professional mechanic, I would also recommend a second opinion.   BDC

QBS

Replace the water pump seal.  With help from Haynes it is not hard.  Easier than the starter clutch.  Haynes says that if the weep hole is weeping, the seal should be replaced asap.  I think oil and coolent mixing results from running with a bad seal.

Kiwi

Is this the part you are referring to ?
Bikebandit.com part no. 1146099
(6349-001)

It looks like a gasket, kinda like the one on the left side engine cover.

Thanks

US 82 XZ550 with the flapper Airbox

jim328

I replaced water pump seal. Wasn't that difficult, just follow the manual. I didn't need any special tools. Best to replace coolant pipe o rings at the same time. And the oil seal inside the crankcase cover.

Re-Vision

Kiwi, The part you need to replace is Seal Mechanical P/N 1146098. The weep hole is located between Mechanical Seal and Oil Seal P/N 1776858. These two parts alone will cost over $35.
I agree with Jim328 about replacing both seals and bearing while in there.    BDC

VFan

I'm picking up this old thread in hopes of potentially adding more helpful information to this search topic.