Newbie here considering buying an 83 vision

Started by d0n, June 13, 2006, 03:15:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

d0n

Hey people, I found an 83 vision locally advertised for $950 or B/O. It looks nice in the pics but I haven't seen it in person yet. Hopefully, tonight!

I do not know the mileage yet.

Is there anything specific I should look for when making my decision to buy. What is a ballpark value of a running 1983 vision?

Here's 2 pics of the bike.

haunter

82 with fairing, rejetted, 83 turbo seca fork and brakes coming whenver I acquire the rest of the parts, and she stops breaking long enough to be in the garage for an upgrade instead of a repair.

d0n

A little more info... I'm 39 now. When I was in my 20's I bought a brand new 1985 suzuki gs550ef. Loved that bike.

In 2000 I bought a new suzuki hayabusa 1300. Loved that bike but so did the cops.  :'( I sold it after 12k miles so I wouldn't end up in jail.  :'(

Right now, I have a few smaller bikes... an 86 honda 250 helix, an 88 honda zb50 (with a new 125cc engine installed) and an 84 honda z50r dirtbike.

I'd like to get back into the "motorcycle" scene and I think a 550 would be perfect. Especially, a shaft driven, water cooled twin! Sounds like a great combo!

Brian Moffet

it's missing the lower faring, which is not a big deal.  From what I can see it doesn't look like it has the usual tank dents where the fairing hits the tank when it falls over. 

Look around the bottom seam of the fuel tank for signs of rust, usually means that the inside of the tank needs to be treated.   That seems to be a big problem on most of the Visions.  Also, bring a volt-meter and check to see what the voltage at the battery terminals is when you've got 3K RPM.  14.5 is probably about the best, and is a reasonable indicator that the charging system is in good order.

Brian

d0n