News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

What is this wire for?

Started by yamaha405, December 17, 2004, 04:13:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yamaha405

I'm not that good at exaplining things but i'll give it a shot, here goes...I originally bought my Vision from a friend of mine who had had it stolen from him and when he got it back, he never messed with getting it going  again. that when i taook it off his hands. the bike hadnt ran since 1986 and I raded a Hinda CRX with a cracked block for the bike whck had only 4,946 miles on it, original, now it has 5,000.  Well, how i recently got it going was from a friend. The thing that had been holding me up from getting it started was that the ignition had been all busted up and so there was no power. Well that friend that I talked to said i could just twist the four ignition wires togther and have power, well, sure enough it did. So i wired a kill switch in under the seat and had been driving it that way. well when my other friend recently crashed it, i started looking for the parts to fix it. I came across an ignition switch for cheap on ebay and snagged it last night. now that it is going to be hooked up correctly, im curious about what the fourth wire is for since there are only three at the connector. It is the red wire in the picture that splits into two wires. why is this? go to www.geocites.com/motoxdude24
then go to vision pics to see what im talking about. thanks a lot for however can help me and sorry for making it so long, ive never really said my story on how i got into the vision so  i thought i would now. If i confused you or anyhitng let me know, i just want to know why that red wire plits, or why the two red wires come into one, what ever you want to call it, thanks again Chris---

sdinino

Take a look at this diagram:

http://www.xz550.com/wiring_files/WiringDiagram.gif