Anyone Painted Their Motors Black?

Started by YellowJacket!, May 26, 2008, 10:25:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Has anyone painted their motors black that wants to share a few pictures?  I was looking at a V-Max and liked how the motor looked...saw a Ninja too, but was wondering how it would look on the V.
I think it would add a new dimension to YJ's appearence but I just wanted to see how it looked first.

Any pics?  Any recomendations for going about it?  Paint type?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Night Vision

yup, mine's black...

I just got the title to my 1992 xz5  :-\ the other day so I don't have any miles

and I'm not sure how the paint is going to hold up yet...

but I'll let ya know...  in the mean time take a pic and "paint" it
if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

williamruck

Quote from: YellowJacket! on May 26, 2008, 10:25:49 PM
Has anyone painted their motors black that wants to share a few pictures?  I was looking at a V-Max and liked how the motor looked...saw a Ninja too, but was wondering how it would look on the V.
I think it would add a new dimension to YJ's appearence but I just wanted to see how it looked first.

Any pics?  Any recomendations for going about it?  Paint type?

Thanks,

David

I was actually thinking of asking the same thing. Anyone have any suggestions on the type of paint? I was thinking just your generic engine enamel, but I am not sure how that would hold up to the elements.

Lucky

1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

h2olawyer

I seriously doubt the paint would be more difficult to remove than the factory clearcoat crap!

H2O