News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Shark Fairing: How do you mount it?

Started by YellowJacket!, May 24, 2006, 08:12:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Ok, Im well under way prepping the Shark Fairing for painting and I wanted to do a mock up before I paint it to see how it looks but I am clueless as to how to mount it.  I have what I believe are all the brackets for it.
I know I have to remove the turn singnals and they fit on the bracket.  Do I have to remove and move the headlight too?

Anyone have any pics or drawings?

Thanks for the help.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Night Vision

The shark fairing has three mounting points and three "brackets/mounts".

There is a bracket/mount that bolts to the edit- lower triple tree and replaces the horn cover. That bracket/mount has ears on the ends that the turn signals attach to. It has two places for screws in the front that the front of the fairing mounts to. Without a fairing, I call that the "tow bar"

The other two brackets/mounts basically go straight up off headlight ears where the turn signals "used" to be. There are two screws in the windshield that should be longer and go through those two mounts

The bitch  >:( is that the OEM screws and nuts were made out of either plastic or nylon and are very brittle and break or have been replaced. If you have to get substitute screws/bolts for the upper mounts that go through the windshield, good luck.... seems that the plastic or nylon didn't mind going through the upper mount threads... but trying to get a standard metric bolt or screw through there now is like.... ummm.... really really hard.

BTW, make sure you use rubber washers on all the mounting points or your lemon will peel  ;)

I really do like the color... between you, Tiger, Zore, SuperFly/Blake... how many colors were in a roll of lifesavers????? oooh, oooh - lemon, orange, cherry, grape, who's got a  pineapple bike? Step up newbies!!!