New UK Owner Dropped Valves Within First 43 miles

Started by Slamfire, September 22, 2002, 12:47:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Slamfire

Ok I picked up one of these for ?450 off ebay last friday as soon as I ran here up to 60 mph performance went to hell ... engine started sounding like a metal foundry ... hit the kill switch and pulled off the motorway to inspect the damage.

It stills turns over and can even run just but the noise it makes is horroble and definately not healthy. Sounds to me like a dropped valve but I'm no expert.

Anyway I have tracked down somewho whos selling 2 complete visions an 82 and 83 and basically was wanting an opion.

Would it be cheaper to strip the front cyclinder down myself and repair it with yammy parts which I'm told are quite expensive and then try and find the cause of why it went in the first place?

... or just buy a doner bike and sling a newish running engine in?

Keep in mind that I dont have a full workshop and would be doing this in the garden (No doubt with allot of swearing and cursing)

Basically if anyones dropped an engine out of one these things I just want to know how complicated is it ... it's mainly the shaft drive i'm worried only having worked on chain drives b4.

But too end this post ... even though I only done 43 miles ... they were a dam good 43 miles hehe and I intend too do my best this wee beasty back too life.

Slam

Rick G