News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Need advice for chrome on emblems.

Started by YellowJacket!, March 28, 2006, 08:21:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Ok, I'm down to th enitty gritty final touches and I have a dilema.  My XZ550 side emblems are chromed gold and my Yamaha tank emblems are chromed silver.  My question is, what is the best way to re-chrome/paint the tank emblems to gold and make them look good.  The current chrome job is very good and I hate to ruin them but they don't match.

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Mutt

DaveTn, I read once on this forum where someone had taken their tank emblems to a local body shop at a car dealership to have them redone. Might be worth it to call and see if they'll do them for you. I forget what the process was called but it's not painting. Someone on the forum must know what I'm talking about. It's more of a etching or something like that.

Mutt
"The internet is a great way to get on the net."
- Bob Dole, Republican presidential candidate
"I invented the internet." -Al Gore, Vice President

Lucky

Have i got a treat for you! check your email..
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

YellowJacket!

Ahhhh, I just found where this post went to.  I thought I originally posted it in TechTalk but when I went back to check it, it was gone so I reposted.  I thing I ihnaled tew mych paint fumes.  :o

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

kiawrench

dave,, run down to local hobby/craft store, buy a small starter kit for gold leaf work. it has leaf, glue, brushes and a burnisher and some fixer spray ,,, i think was 21.50 or so? ?you will have enough there to re-leaf (gold chrome) every badge you have and maybe a bit more. just be sure to work clean, dont sneeze and keep the cat away from the table you are working on . ( for some reason , cats like smell of the glue used in gold leaf work )