How Can I Change The Face On My Gauge Cluster?

Started by YellowJacket!, August 04, 2005, 05:24:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

My Guage cluster is in good shape but after years of sitting outside the colors on it have become faded.  It is perfectly readable but I have a "whiteline" instead of a Redline and the transition from faded green to almost white on the temp guage looks cruddy.
So I was wondering, How do I make it look new?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Extent

The tach is easy to repaint, just get some red model paint and a small brush and go to town.  I never did have to repaint my speedo because I just replaced it with a digital one.  When I put in my voltage meter I printed a custom face for it (red and green rather than blue and white, plus it needed to be smaller)  I just made up the face I wanted in photoshop and printed it out.  Cut it to shape and glue it in place.  It's easy to do for the temp syle guages, in order to get around center mounted needles like the tach and speedo you've got to cut a slit in the guage face and slip it over the shaft, then just hide the cut the best you can.

Scans of the original guages were posted up somewhere before, and a new set of custom faces as well.
Rider1>No wonder, the Daytona has very sharp steering and aggressive geometry.  It's a very difficult bike for a new rider.
Rider2>Well it has different geometry now.

Superfly

These were floating around the forum a while ago.... you can start with this.

A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

Sable