News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Just picked a vision... its definitely a project. **pictures up**

Started by GiftVision, February 09, 2009, 03:23:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GiftVision

Where to begin... I am not new to bikes, or Yamaha's for that matter. What I am very new to is this bike, it perplexes me to see a v-twin 550cc like this... but none-the-less I am willing to try it... once I get it working of course. This was actually a free bike... so I took what I got in stride.

This is an 82 as far as I can tell...
It looks like it was birthed in a salt bath... rust and pitting everywhere.
the paint really isnt all that bad, it actually has a nice dark gray color mixed with the rust.
The good (as far as I can tell)
-It cranks when it has power **yay the engine is not seized**
-The lights work
-It has an ignition key
-It has tires that hold air *For now*
-The rear brake works
-Its a great project!
The Bad (again as far as I can tell)
-The master cylinder (F-brake) is locked up *one on order already*
-There is no key for the gas cap
-There is no key for the seat release (same key right??)
-The fuel tank is very very very rotted... did i mention very?
-I cant get the seat off! (the key issue remember?)
-I cant get the fuel tank off! (again with that damned key)
-I cant tell what else is wrong with it because parts wont come off yet!!
The okay but not so great
-Frame has rust
-exhaust has rust
-engine has white "pitting" on it...
-wheels have rust
-no battery *yet*

I am grinning ear to ear with this bike... I cant wait to hear this thing run. I have a set of priorities first, and of course you may interject if you think they are not in the right order...
-Get engine running
-Check all other fluids, etc.
-Check all wiring
-Fuel tank-> either fix or replace all together... gas cap too
-Brakes (entire system)
-Tires
Current rides
1985 GL1200 Aspencade Goldwing
1982 Yamaha Vision *not running as of yet*