vision doesnt like to start when warm...any tips on where to start?

Started by wigglesrewind, September 14, 2009, 08:56:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wigglesrewind

hey guys, my visions usually starts right up and runs great when its cold but once its been running and i shut it off. its really hit or miss getting it started again. im pretty new to bikes in general and have never worked on carbs before. im thinking that cleaning out the carbs is probably the first place i should go? how hard/expensive is it to maintenence the carbs on these bikes? an y help anyone could offer would be awesome. thanks in advance.
my first bike: 82' xz550 10k miles

don_vanecek

Tell us more how/what you normally do when you start it when cold-your procedure-then of course tell us what you have to do to get it to start when warm or hot.  More details.

wigglesrewind

typically i just choke it (full)when its cold and it will start after a few cranks. when its warm it doesnt seem to matter whether its choked or not, it seems like it will start whenever it feels like it. sometimes it starts sometimes it wont no matter how much i try. what i dont really do anything different at all so im not sure why it starts sometimes and other times it wont.
my first bike: 82' xz550 10k miles

YellowJacket!

Try this out:  Half choke, three twists of the throttle (click your heels for good luck) and hit the start button.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Lucky

my routine:

petcock to prime
7/8th's choke
3.25 twists of the throttle
lights off
clutch in
key in
push start, crank & twist 180 seconds
let off start, key off
1/2 choke, 1.157 twsts of throttle
key on, push start, crank 74 seconds, scowl
let off start, key off, key on, push start twice, move choke back & fourth while cranking, 18 seconds.
key off, mutter something under my breath, yell: "nothing Sweetheart, just starting the bike"