News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Engine noise -- Bump start ( Could it damage an engine?)

Started by Raj1988, May 29, 2010, 03:11:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Raj1988

Ok, i have a ticking sound from my engine at idle and also a whirring sound at higher rpm, like something is binding, It disappears when i roll off the throttle or switch gears. I thought it might be the clutch but it continues when i pull in the clutch and coast .

Any ideas?
Rock and Roll Ain't Noise Pollution

kev10104

Check your front plug.If it is dirty it is happening to me.Clean or change the plug and it will dissapear but the dirty plug needs to be corrected.

YellowJacket!

Kev, this is realted to your other post "stumped".  If your plug is dirty then there is probably something wrong with your carbs. Whether it is that they need some cleaning or tuning or syncing, or just need the mixture adjusted.  I'd look into that.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

kev10104

Kenny

What condition is your starter clutch in?
                  ;) Cheers Ken S.
2 XV 920rh 81
1 Red/White 83
1 Blue/White 83
Bmw R100rs 84
TDM 850  92

Raj1988

Tiger fixed the starter clutch, but i have been bump starting for the past few weeks. Still waiting on a starter to come in from denver!

Raj1988

Ok, the High rpm sound of something bindind and spinning is getting more pronounced. does jump starting damage the starter clutch or anything else in the system?

Walt_M.

I'm a little concerned that your starter clutch is not disengaging. But if this went on very long your starter would come from together. As to your question, jump starting from a fully charged battery in a 'non-running' vehicle should not hurt the starter clutch.
Whale oil beef hooked!

Raj1988