News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

New Gauges! Lots of Pics

Started by YellowJacket!, June 19, 2007, 05:53:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin

Quite a undertaking, it looks good. Would there be room to drop the unit down to a flush mount in the housing?

YellowJacket!

Quote from: inanecathode on July 05, 2007, 10:17:25 PM
Told you guys they were glass <_<

Yup, they made a distinct glas like klanking sound as the pieces fell to my workshop floor as I plucked them out.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

YellowJacket!

Quote from: Kevin on July 05, 2007, 10:45:10 PM
Quite a undertaking, it looks good. Would there be room to drop the unit down to a flush mount in the housing?

I actually thought of that and will probably do it over the winter.  The gauge bucket that I have has a mounting point in it for the temp gauge which I will have to grind out.  Otherwise, it should fit.  My plastic fabbing skills leave much to be desired though.
The next thing I have to do is smooth out the edges and round off the corners to follow the lines of the old gauge cluster.

David

Aelwulf

Another one that might be interesting, although rather pricey:

http://www.denniskirk.com/jsp/product_catalog/Product.jsp?skuId=407603&catId=216&leafCatId=21607

Has everything under the sun, if it would work on a bike as old as the Vision.

Ah, such fun to be out riding...
*thunk*
What was that?!

'82 Yamaha Vision XZ550RJ
'07 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Special Edition (VN1600B)

zore

Ouch.  500 bucks.  Dave.  Did you try mounting it with out using your stock gauge cluster?  Maybe bending something out of aluminum sheet?
1982 Yamaha XZ550
1995 Ducati M900

inanecathode