Bike does not start... troubleshooting - one step at a time

Started by Enzo, May 31, 2012, 01:08:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Enzo

I am just starting to go through the carburetor on the Vision I bought a few months back.
My hope is that some time between the middle and the end of June I will have the bike running.  After all I am just learning to ride a motorbike.

The previous owner had the carburetor cleaned at a local Yamaha dealer last year, but the bike would not start except with ether and an electrical boost.  So I figure I will need to go through the electrical; however, I started with the carburetor since fuel was spilling out theoverflow when it did run after the carb cleaning.  From what I have read on this site I figure the floats may not be set properly, so the fuel level in the bowls is too high.

I checked the main jets in the carb are 122.5 and 127.5 - good.  What was not good is that they were switched around from the way they are supposed to be - so the 122.5 was in the rear carburetor.  Simple fix. ( But I think I will stay away from that Yamaha dealership except to get a few parts.) The bike has an aftermarket exhaust - Mac.  Should the main jets be changed to different sizes?

I could feel grooves on the float bowl needle valves.  So they will be replaced.

The carb was dry when I took it apart, since it has been sitting on my bench for a month.  I am having a tough time trying to pull the needle valve seat out of its bore. Is it safe to spray WD40 to try to lubricate the rubber o-ring?

I screwed the pilot jet plug out and discovered...(drumroll please)....I need a skinnier screw driver to get the pilot jet out. (sigh)

Jimustanguitar

I wrapped the tips of some needle nose pliers with lots of masking tape (just shy of not being able to fit anymore) and easily pulled out my valve seats without marring them. Grab one sidewall, don't put the pliers across both sides of the seat because you might risk crushing the seat into an oval.