News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Trauma Surgery

Started by YellowJacket!, June 23, 2012, 04:17:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Well, the rotation I feared the most has started - Trauma Surgery.

I have been working 16 hour night shifts at the University of Tennessee Medical Center, a level I trauma center and regional "magnet" hospital.  Its been very exciting and as a PA student, I thought I would not get to do much but I was wrong.  I have been doing almost everything a regular trauma surg resident does.  Apparently I've done pretty well becasue the attendings and residents have been letting me do a lot on my own, but with their supervision.

Being at a level I center, I see everything and unfortunately, a lot of that is motorcycle wrecks, MCC for short.  Since I am at a magnet center, we receive the worst of the worst from a large radius.  One of my patients was stopped at a traffic light and hit from behind by a pickup truck that never stepped on its brakes.  The MC rider and his bike were driven under the SUV in front of him and he was crushed.  He suffered severe head trauma in spite of having a full helmet on which was crushed.

Last night I took care of a guy that was on a 1-off custom bike built by some well known TV celebs.  It was a single vehicle wreck and his bike was totaled.  He told me that he paid over $150k for the bike and the wheels alone were $15k each.  I told him I only paid a dollar for my bike.  He laughed a little but he had three fractured ribs...  Fortunately for him, his pride and pocketbook were hurt more than his body.

I have also worked several stabbings and GSW's and was asked by the cheif trauma surgeon to "scrub in" and first assist on a man who was stabbed in the abdomen.  There were three other residents on the service that night that could have been asked but he picked me which was awesome.