News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Cool bike....bad electrical

Started by thisandthat, February 11, 2013, 04:19:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thisandthat

Replaced my stator not to many miles ago.
Doesn't charge, first time it was a bad connection, now I'm thinking it's the stator again.

What's the resistance and voltage between the white wires supposed to be

Anyone tried a different rectifier on the bike?

Thanks

Jon

Rick G

I've been using a KZ900 RR for 10 years , It has a larger heat sink , Its supposed to be better quality too!
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

fret not

I have a MOSFET RR unit from a '07 or later CBR600RR  which is nearly bullet proof.  Make sure your battery is in good health and well charged before making any assessments of your system.

Keep in mind that the mechanical and electrical elements of your system don't care about you, they respond to the realities they encounter.  Emotionally it's not fair, but from their perspective emotions don't count.  Get over it. ;)
Retired, on the downhill slide. . . . . . . . still feels like going uphill!

Rikugun

Some harsh reality and a bit of philosophy thrown in to soothe the hurt. Well done fret nut!  :D

QuoteWhat's the resistance and voltage between the white wires supposed to be
Don't have the specs in front of me but the ohms should be very low - maybe <1 using rx1 scale?  Also ensure there is no continuity from the whites to ground. Use the highest ohm scale on the meter. The volts will vary but 50ac at about 4k would be adequate I'd think. Occasionally you'll find one that tests well but spits the bit under load  :o Here's a practical test I found online to help determine if the potential holds up under scrutiny...