Corroded frame, maybe old subject, couldn't find

Started by maciekmz250, March 05, 2013, 03:11:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maciekmz250

Hi,I'm newbie here - UK based XZ 550 restoration enthusiast.
My bike is 1982, bought 99% of stock ( rad grille missing only),BUT...yeah - after stripping to bits and sand blasting a frame, some nasty things showed up. Frame centre crossmember is eaten up by rust. Bike spent some time in a garden on a side stand, next to English Channel collecting all fresh sea breeze :-\ so the results are obivious. Due to existing holes in that box bottom left part is gone, so the inner section of main tube, and of course ribs inside that box section.
My question is - did any one of you deal with such disaster? I thought it over and over and my solution is - cut away everything rotten, open a top of the box to get rotten ribs away than replace them with some made up ribs and then weld it back  together. All factory openings in box will be sealed, box filled with something inert or corrosion inhibitor of some kind.
What are you about?

Cdnlouie

Welcome to the North American site for Vision enthusiasts! I feel your pain  :'(.  The reason there is no article here is because it has not been a problem...ever.  Unfortunately, bikes in the UK have suffered the effects of salt air and excessive moisture resulting in very few making it to the 30 year mark.  Quoted in Classic Mechanics (UK) said in 2008 "Rusting steel and fur riddled alloy were very much the order of the day."  They could not find one Vision on the 'Isles' back then so you are fortunate to have one.