News:

Main Menu

chain conversion

Started by dingleberry, October 23, 2013, 02:44:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dingleberry

Ok all the sensible people, take a deep breath, count to ten and bear with me.
I am going to convert my shaft drive xz400 to chain drive. I know, it's higher maintenance and all that but I just want to. Haven't done anything like this before so if I pull it off it should give me a sense of achievement, that's reason enough to me. Oh and I blew the money for my tig welder (for frame mods) on a couple of old bikes. Anyone know if there is a "bike collectors anonymous" program anywhere I can sign onto?
I have the general idea of what to do but because I'm pretty new to engineering I have question.
An outer housing seems the way to go but I'm a little unsure how to measure accurately so the bearing in said housing lines up exactly with the output shaft from gearbox. If you guys have seen a chain conversion or picture of one this should make sense hopefully. I saw some pics in the ROV newsletters so I'm assuming most will know what I'm on about. Please assume I'm clueless and give me the basics or a link to an appropriate site. :-[ 
You like, oui?

The Prophet of Doom

There are pics and descriptions of John Clemens' chain conversion on this forum

charlie h.

Once you get the chain conversion done, find an XS400 Seca (82-83) rear wheel to match the Vision front... It was chain drive!

The Prophet of Doom

Quote from: the oldstuff on October 23, 2013, 02:44:49 AM
An outer housing seems the way to go but I'm a little unsure how to measure accurately so the bearing in said housing lines up exactly with the output shaft from gearbox.