News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Carb troubles (and introduction)

Started by a747freak, September 11, 2016, 05:41:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

a747freak

Greetings forum,
My name is Steve, i bought my Vision in April and its in rough shape.  I'm trying to get her road worthy again.

I've been riding for about 7 years and this is my third bike.  My two previous bikes were both from the 80s as well, and have done a decent amount of work on both but I'm by no means an expert.  When it comes to the carbs and the fuel air system, one thing I've learned is it has to be in good shape with no leaks for the best performance.  Since not much about this bike is in good shape, before doing anything else this is what I've done:

Rebuilt the carbs with a kit, new jets, gaskets, etc.  I backed the mixture screw out 2.5 turns, as I read in another thread on this forum.
Replaced the intake boots with brand new ones (ebay purchase, shipped from Poland I think)
Replaced the battery with a brand new AGM
Replaced the fuel line
Replaced the air filter
Washed out the air box

Now the carbs were very gunked up when I took them apart.  The foam inside the previous air filter was falling off and getting sucked into the carbs.  When I first put the carbs back on the bike after reassmbly, I hadn't yet replaced the battery and had to jump start the old battery but it started right up.  I took it for a ride for a good while and it didn't stall on me at all (even though my riding skills are rusty).  However, after I killed the engine, it wouldn't restart for me.  It was getting dark and I didn't have the headlight connected so I called it quits for that night and ordered the battery.