News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

New Bike

Started by Vanny, May 19, 2003, 01:25:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vanny

I just bought my first bike yesteday, a totally mint condition 82 Vision with 13K on it. I am/was very happy with my buy as I think I got a good deal until I came home and did some reading on the "Net" and all I see is "TCI" electrical problems with my bike.  I had a little ride on it before I bought it and it seemed to run great.  I am riding now just waiting for a problem instead of enjoying the bike. I have just waited a long time for a bike as I am a student, and I want things to go well as I don't have a lot of extra $$. Are there things that I should do to make it more reliable, or should I just ride the thing and not worry so much!!

~VANNY

QQBS

Closely study Luckys' site.  If the sarter clutch installation is OEM, prepare to repair its installation within the next 8 to 10 k miles.  The sooner the better.  Assuming that the starter oil seal is OEM, replace it with a spring lip desighn as soon as possible.  Clean to bright and shiney condition and grease both of the Reg/Rec connectors.  Same for the spark coil connectors.  Install an inline fuel filter immediatlely.  Clean to bright and shiney condition the inside area of the fuse holder prongs, lightly grease that area.  Clean the ends of the fuses the same way.  Take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Riders Course.  Subscribe to Motorcycle Consumers News.

When properly set up and sorted out the V is a wonderful bike for many things, miles, and years.  Enjoy.  Cheers.

Jeff

Welcome and not to worry...Enjoy the ride and keep intouch. Alot of experience here all you have to do is ask..
Jeff

Lucky

My first Vision was $50, not ridden in 9 years, today it's almost done, but I was riding it a month after i bought it & at that point spent only about$140 in say.. $20 increments.
the bike doesn't have to be a money pit