News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Question and Possible Solution Regarding Petcocks

Started by YellowJacket!, May 14, 2005, 01:32:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

I'm in a funny situation.  I have an 82 Vision with an 83 gas tank and petcock.  The petcock is shot...corroded and rusted...and I feel that I'm in a sinking boat with a few others as far as a replacement goes.  I have read that a 83 Virago petcock may work but want to know if there are any other alternatives.
Also, I know someone locally that owns a custom bike shop and was wondering if it would be worth asking him if he could weld a new plate on the tank for a different petcock and if something like that would work.  Has anyone successfully done that?
I've searched the forums and petcock returns quite a few hits, so forgive me if I have revived a dead or beaten to death thread.

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

h2olawyer

Dave -

If you can get your tank modified to accept a readily available petcock, I think that may be a good way to go.  Only drawback is the possibility of shoddy workmanship or if you really want to keep it as close to stock as possible.  Otherwise, I'd say go for it!

H2O
If you have an accident on a motorcycle, it's always your fault. Tough call, but it has to be that way. You're in the right, and dead -on a bike. The principle is not to have any accident. If you're involved in an an accident, it's because you did not anticipate. Then, by default, you failed.

Walt_M.

You might want to consider price. How much would the mods cost? I've been fighting(and losing) a petcock battle with my '83 since I got it back on the road 2 yrs ago. I even bought a tank and petcock on ebay last year. That petcock was worse than my original! And I still have a horrible leak! I'm actually considering ordering a new one, at 90 bucks!
Whale oil beef hooked!

YellowJacket!

Walt,