News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Need honest opinions please

Started by hfarley, April 10, 2005, 03:40:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul_Jungnitsch

One thing with the street bikes is that once they start going over, you've got to be pretty quick to get them back on center. And once they reach a certain point they are just going to go over, unless you are a superman. Dirt bikes are much easier that way.

Mine used to fall over regularly when I started riding it, even though I'm 5'10" and had ridden a dirt bike for some time. That and I had a helluva time making the slow speed course for my licence. After failing that a few times, I eventually gave up and took the bike on the road anyway (I'd bought it for a Cross-Canada trip). On the first part of the trip, a loop through Prince Rupert/Ferry/Island/Kooteneys, I got stopped by a cop in Vancouver and thought I'd have to walk home. He believed my story that I only needed a regular car drivers licence to ride a bike in Alberta (whew).

Anyway, after driving the bike day in day out for a month there were no more problems. One tip, keep your grip bolts slightly loose so the lever assemblies will pivot rather than break when the bike goes down (dirt bike trick).

Rick G

Hi Heather, I'm 5'9 1/2   but my inseam is 29 1/2 "  , When I was  just starting as a wrench in 1964  I had to ride many new bikes that belonged to the shop and bikes that belonged to customers . At first the triumphs gave  me problems , I never dropped one  but scared my self several times .  I learned , with practice , to ride anything that came into the shop , with out dropping it . I did drop my Vision on a snow covered  logging road in OR. I ahd a hell of a time getting it upright again!