News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Speedometer gear sending unit!

Started by 93stx, April 06, 2003, 09:40:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

93stx

I am new to the Vision world and I am try to get a hold of fixing my 82 Vision.. I first thought that the instrument cluster was bad,  but I unscrewed the speedometer cable from the wheel and hooked it up to a drill and the speed registered on the cluster so it must be the sending unit!!! Right???    So that brings me to Wanted!!  I think I need the gear unit and I  am going to try to get it on the bike this week!!

Thanks,
Nick .. Wisconsin

RobTx

You can always install a digital bicycle speedometer for about $25.  Much more accurate than the stock analog speedo.  Here's a link detailing how a bicycle speedo was installed on a BMW.  http://www.ibmwr.org/ktech/trek-speedo-fix.shtml
Rob

Rick G

Its probably not  the sending gearbox on the front wheel! I have had a couple of Visions that had inner core a little to short. Connect it to the sending gear box and disconnect it from the speedo  and spin the front wheel (have someone sit on the bike  while it is on the center stand)
 and observe the cable core, if its turning its not the gear box!  My solution was to get a speedo core kit from my local auto parts store . They come with instructions and can be varied in length. i measured my old speedo cable core and made the replacement 3/32 (or so) longer .  I tried the bicycle speedo trick, but the wires that came with it were too short and you were not supposed to extend them . Your success may be better.
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

93stx