News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

is the Haynes book enough for the job?

Started by Buffo, May 11, 2005, 06:00:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buffo

i am going to rebuild my carbs (1982) and i have not done this before. i am not all that worried about the task but i do have a few questions.

1. is the haynes book sufficient in its rebuild directions?

2. are there any little "tradesman secrets" that will elavate the quality and/or longevity of the rebuild?

Thank you

Don

hfarley

I personally have not rebuilt my carbs yet, but I am a newbie still. I personally have the original owners manual, the yamaha manual, and the haynes manual. I find that for some things it helps to look in all three. Sometimes one will explain the process in a different way so that it is easier for me to understand. I don't know if that helps at all, but I have found them all to be helpful. Although if I had to pick one to use exclusively it would be the haynes. I am finding that I am using that one the most. Good luck and let us know how you do!
-Heather
Sometimes being insane in an insane world IS being sane

I don't suffer from insanity....I enjoy every minute of it!

Lucky

If you want the Yamaha manual, i have it on CD, shoot me an Email. it also includes the haynes manual, OEM parts Fiche, and the wiring diagram.

--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

h2olawyer

Don -

If you've done other carbs in the past, the Haynes should get you through OK.  Study the diagrams closely before you start & keep track of which jets go where.  Procedure is set forth in Haynes fairly well.  Don't let the carb bodies sit in the dip too long (30 minutes should do it).  You don't want to remove the butterflies from the bodies & a longer dip in Berrymans will likely start to eat the butterfly shaft seals.