83 tank on a 82 bike will this work ?

Started by smknjoe1964, June 13, 2005, 03:10:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smknjoe1964

Searching what I could on the listings here I couldnt figure out what the adjustments would have to be . Is this workable ? I have 82 petcock and cap. Suggestions and pointers please ?  Thanks 

YellowJacket!

I have an 83 tank on my 82 Vision.  Although i hadn't ridden the bike yet and have been rebuilding it, it worked fine for the previous owner.  My only problem is finding a suitable petcock that will work on the tank.  Currently I am having a custom petcock mount built for the tank and am going to install a regular two port petcock.
The 83 tank has a fuel guage sending unit in it and the petcock has three ports.  The 82 and 82 petcocks are not interchangeable but the TANK will work.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Superfly

I put a 83 tank on my 82.  Works fine.  The main question is why do you want to.  I had a set of 83 gauges, and wanted the fuel gauge working.  I came across a set of 83 carbs, 83 tank, and 83 petcock, and a 83 airbox to go with my 83 gauges.  It tends to be a bit more of a hassle to find a petcock for that year, and rebuild kits are not available.  82 tanks are more available!
A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

Ken Williams

Plug the return line and you will be ready to go.

smknjoe1964

The 82 tank I have has dents and rusted in the usual spots .Still repairable , Im getting close to finishing the paint on the 83 as thats all it needed. I thought I better get around to checking on what I was looking at as far as modifying. So  Ken you said all I have to do is plug the return line on the 82 petcock and that should work ? Thanks so far for all of your inputs !

Superfly

You need an 83 petcock for an 83 tank.  Then you can plug the return line on the 83 petcock to work with you 82 carbs.

smknjoe1964