News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

SHE STARTS!!!..But runs only on one cyl

Started by YellowJacket!, July 01, 2005, 05:51:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Got ny baby to start today but she runs on only one cylinder.  I checked the plugs and the rear cyl has a good spark...small but good.
Per the haynes manual, I checked the resistance of the front coil.  connecting to the  molex plug leads , I get 2.75 ohm and from orange wire to where the pug wire inserts, I get 8.75 ohms so the coil is close to spec.  Plugs are brand new NGK per spec and properly gapped.
I swapped out TCI's and still the same thing.
I also checked the plug wire and I get a 8 - 9 ohm reading but no continuity buzzer.

Any suggestions...dumb question, because I know all you generous people are out there to help  ;D

Thanks,
David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Superfly

Sounds basic, but is the Rev Limiter cut?
A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

YellowJacket!

Superfly

YellowJacket!

Well, I think its either a bad coil or plug wire.

I swapped the rear wire to the front coil and rear cyl and nothing.
Front coil wire is too short to reach the rear cyl so I could not test this way.
Then I tested rear coil and front cyl and bam!, ?I get ignition but a backfire in the carb. ?Makes you jump when youre holding a can of primer (spray bottle with gas..used to rule out bad carb which I know needs extreme cleaning)

So, I am in search of a coil/front plug wire. ?I have a turn signal and a headlight basket, lens and clean chrome surround to trade ?:o

David

YellowJacket!

Superfly

1.  Unscrew the plugwire from the coil.  this way you can have the long plug wire going to the rear cylinder.  When I am testing coils, I will switch the connectors (where they plug into the harness) also.