My Tank Project

Started by YellowJacket!, July 08, 2005, 03:23:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Got the tank back from the shop yesterday after Phase I.  When I stripped the tank down, I found that it had several layers of body filler on it.  After I got it back, the shop guy told me it had about an inch and a half of filler on each side.  He pulled the dents out and sealed all the pinholes for me.  Today Im PORing the tank and over the next few days I will get it ready to send back to him so he can finish it for me.  Right now, I'm going to have him get it to primer stage and will tune the bike and ride it a little.  The total cost for popping the dents and filling the holes was $200.00 adn I'm going to (eventually) pay him another $150.00 for paintint the tank, fender and plastics on the bike.  So far, this was the most expensive part of my restore, but the tank will be perfect when its done.

Here are some pics:

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

YellowJacket!

And more pcs (cant figure out how to get more than two per post):

David

Lucky

just a note, that fuel filter looks old, have a new one for it?
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

YellowJacket!

Quote from: Lucky on July 08, 2005, 03:42:40 PM
just a note, that fuel filter looks old, have a new one for it?

The picture does it justice...it's worse than it looks.  I'm gonna pick up a new one this weekend.

David

YellowJacket!

Well, I got my tank back today and it looks beautiful!? And it's still only primer coated.