How do you adjust down a high idle? *PROBLEM SOLVED*

Started by YellowJacket!, July 20, 2005, 04:23:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

OK, got her running today but she idles between 4 and 5k RPM.? I pretty much have to start out in 2nd or 3rd gear to keep from popping wheelies.

The Idle adjusting screw is all the way back (the bigh thumb screw) and there is a gap between it and the linkage, so that is not the problem.

When I was rebuilding the carbs, I noticed that the "plugs" were removed from the idle jets as opposed to the ones on the carb that came on the bike.? Could that be the problem?? They are two small jet screws right next to each linkage bar on the bottom of the throttle body before it seats into the rubber boots.

Any other suggestions or tricks that I should know?

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Lucky

Quote"the "plugs" were removed from the idle jets as opposed to the ones on the carb that came on the bike."

not sure what you mean here...

the 2 screws just above the intake boots are the pilots. i hoped you pulled those & their springs, washers & o-rings before dipping the carbs..

if your idle won't drop you either have a huge vacuume leak, or you may have the synq rod out of adjustment. did you loosen it while it was off the bike? did you turn it at all?

if it's vacuume, look for a leaking YICS (cap it off to check) or petcock, fuel pump vaccuume leaks

shine a light down the carbs & see if the throttles are all the way closed (with the bike off) there should only b4e like 1/32 gap between the throttle plat & wall of the carb.

is the throttle cable screw adjuster too tight?  mine is normally almost all the way backed off.

look at the synq rod side of the carbs, i forget why, but i've seen them hung up on the intake boots.

suspect something physical first, like interference, then check for settings.

--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

h2olawyer