Need Carb MOJO help

Started by YellowJacket!, August 03, 2005, 02:34:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

OK, now that the bike s built and running I have decided to delve into the finer things of Vision Zen...carb tuning.

I am trying to figure out the optimum settings and need some help.

I have an updated 82 carb and updated airbox.

What should the jet sizes be for the top jets (front and rear) and the side Jets (front and rear)

Also, the previous owner removed the plugs from the idle screws and presumably adjusted them himself.  What is the recomended starting point for each screw for adjusting.

Presently YICS is removed and ports plugged.

Thanks for the help.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Superfly

Hey Dave.

I have been using 135's for the main air jets (top) and keeping the stock 122.5 main jet (front) and 127.5 (rear)

Idle settings... much debate, but start with 2.5 turns out from lightly seated (front) and 4.5 turns out from lightly seated (rear)

hope this helps a bit.
A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

Lucky

Yup, use Superflys jetting numbers.

assuming the bike runs, you've already got your inital pilot screw settings, they are just to get the carbs to a point where it'll start & idle.
one at a time, adjust each pilot screw in untill the bike starts to idle rough, you'll hear it. then back the screw out 'till it idles rough again.?center it between these two points.. do this with both screws. you'll have a 'dead zone in the middle'.

synq the carbs

ride the bike, if you have a flat spot when warmed up, turn the pilots in 1/8 turn each then ride it again. if you discover later on you still have a flat spot, but only when the bike is cold, go in another 1/8 turn.

--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

YellowJacket!

Thanks for the quick replies