News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Carburetor Synchronization

Started by Kiwi_XZ, December 14, 2005, 11:37:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kiwi_XZ

Hi all - a small story...

I decided I would have a go at sync'ing my carbs today, the bike has now done about 2000 kms and appears to have been going OK but with all the other things I've been doing I just haven't had time to do this.  I also need to get a manometer and as I'm to tight to go out an purchase a mercury manometer (I couldn't find one in New Zealand for under $100.00) I decided to build one using ATF fluid from plans on the internet.

All went well with the building, I used clear tube and mounted it on a piece of 4 inch by 1 inch pine about a yard long.  The tube looped at the bottom and was held in place using cable clips.  I graduated the board in 2 inch graduations so I would have a reference during the sync'ing.  The whole thing looked very professional.

Warmed up the bike and connected the tubes, at idle (1350 rpm) the fluid shot up the rear cylinder tube and started to march off towards the manifold.  Oops, shutdown!  I try a few things.  Thinking that the tubes may be leaking at the manifold ports I try fitting small hose clips, no improvement.  Only after I disconnect the sync rod to the front carb and find that the ATF fluid now wants march off to the front does it dawn on me that my problem is a big split in the manifold vacuums and it is beyond my cheap ATF manometer to measure.

I quick trip to the local Auto Parts Shop and I purchased a couple of cheap vacuum gauges.  At idle they dance all over the show but at 3000 RPM they settle to a steady figure so I set the sync at that point and then when I connected my cheap manometer I could carry out a final fine adjustment (about 1/4 of a turn).

It worked for me!
I'll fix it, pass me a bigger hammer!

h2olawyer