News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Converting from '82 Carbs

Started by Arick111, June 02, 2006, 08:58:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arick111

I am a motorcycle mechanic which helps me, but I could still use some advice if any one has tried this before. I have a '82 vision and I'm tired of messing with the carbs, so I was wondering if its possible to install the better '83 carbs on my '82. otherwise I was planing to convert to a single carb out the side as I've seen done before, and looking for tips. Although I haven't had the air box update but I herd it doesn't help that much with the horrible dead spot I have in the throttle. so if any one has some advice it would Be much appreciated.
Thanks
Ande

Tiger

??? LUCKY...... ??? Question for the carb GURU..... 8)
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming HOOOOYA lets go again baby !!!!!!

'82 Vision, Pearl Orange finish, lots of up-grades!!!

Superfly

I have a set of 83 carbs on my 82, I like them MUCH BETTER than the 82 carbs.  You can fit the 82 airbox on there, but it sits real tight against the gas tank.  The 83 airbox is better, it has a indention on the bottom of it to allow for the extra bulk of the 83 carbs.  Modify the top engine mount bracket, and cap off the return line (that goes to the 82 petcock) on the 83 carbs.

But if you do the single side carb, that would be cool to.
A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

h2olawyer

With clean, properly adjusted & synched carbs plus a solid, non-leaky YICS, you can eliminate the stumble.  Hope you already have the 83 carbs, they're made of unobtainium.

H2O