News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Lessons for Lucky about living in the south

Started by YellowJacket!, June 13, 2006, 05:58:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

In honor of one  of our most prolific and informative members who will soon be moving to Tennessee, we are compiling a list of things for him to learn about moving to the south.

Previous suggestions including language lessons were posted on this thread: http://ridersofvision.net/forum/index.php?topic=4524.0

Since that thread was dedicated to the Warrior gathering in the gap, I decided to start a more on topic thread for Lucky.   ;D

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Night Vision

Quote from: DaveTN on June 13, 2006, 05:53:40 PM

Another irritating thing.  People 'round here signal for the car IN FRONT of them that is turning.

oooo.. forgot about that gem... that can getcha in a heap of trouble thinking the car in front of you is turning (right) .... thinking to yourself... Ok, I'll edge over to the left....and then it doesn't turn  >:(  (guess no one here would do that anyway right? anticipating what the vehicle in front of them is going to do  ???)

Here's something else quirky they do/did in Raleigh.......

Go to a 7-11 and buy a single beer....

>"do you want a bag?" (a special little brown paper bag that fits a beer perfectly)
>"um, why would I want that little bag?"
>"well, ya know, so no one knows when you're drivin down the road, that you're drinkin a beer!!!"
>"oh, yeah, that sounds like a GOOD IDEA, no one would suspect me of drinking a beer with a paperbag in my face!"

Wake Co., NC had just gotten "liquor by the drink" when I moved down in the early eighties. Before that, you'd take your big ole bottle of "Jack" to a club and pay for a setup....

Now, how many people do you think ended up going home with a half jug of Jack?

On the positive side.... Raleigh had "Don Murray's Barbecue Lodge"