Crappy Gas Mileage

Started by YellowJacket!, June 16, 2006, 03:29:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

Was riding home from work yesterday and she started sputtering and bogging down and acting like she was running out of gas.  flipped to reserve and all was well for the ride home.  Trip Odometer showed 50 miles since last fillup which was 3.8 gals.  I filled to the top of the hump in the tank.  What gives?  She was riding well with only an intermittent stumble (gonna check my YICS).  But roughly 15mpg??

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Night Vision

put the bike up on the center stand and let it run in the reserve postion....
is there any fuel coming out the carb overflow tubes?...flames shooting out the pipes?  ::)

15 mpg is almost unbelievable.. last two times I checked mine, I'm getting around 45mpg.

open the oil filler plug and smell for gas too!!
if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

YellowJacket!

Thanks night vision.

While you were posting this,  I was outside changing the oil.  No gas smell to the oil.

David

Superfly

There should be a HEAVY gas smell somewhere.  Sounds like you are leaking fuel.  Does your carb overflow tube look wet?
A bad marrage is like dirty carbs... It just makes everything else suck.

Night Vision

well at least the two gallons isn't in your oil.... are you estimating mileage based soley on changing over to reserve? or did you put more gas back in?

stick your finger in the ends of the pipes... is it running super rich?
if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

tailwheel

hey Dave,