News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Question about sensor wire for tach

Started by YellowJacket!, August 04, 2009, 06:15:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

My electronic gauges have two ways of sensing the signal for the tach to work.  The less accurate way is to wrap the sensor wire around the front cyl plug wore - which I have done.  It works but only intermittently.  The preferred method is to wire directly into the tach sensor.
My problem is that the wiring diagram thats posted on the site is for the 83 and the colors are slightly different.  On the back of my old gauges, the wores going to the tach were brown, black and orange.  I think the sensor wire is the orange one but I'm not sure.
So, before I fubar my nice electronig gauges, is the correct tach sending wire the orange or brown one?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

The Prophet of Doom

Ignore what I said it appears to be wrong.  I always had trouble reading those things - so suggest you follow this link to a replica of the diagram
http://rsimonnz.googlepages.com/uswiring82.JPG

h2olawyer

Yellow / Black is the rev limiter circuit.  The tach sensor runs from one coil to the tach - on one year it is the grey wire, the other year it is orange (US RJ/RK models).  Don't remember offhand which year is which.  The Haynes manual's diagram says both years are grey.  I'm fairly sure that's not right.  But if there's a grey wire coming from your wiring harness to the plug that (used to) connect to the gauge cluster, that's the one to use.  If it's orange, then use that one.  They won't both be headed there from the coils & there doesn't appear to be any other similar colors heading into the cluster.