News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Interesting Progressive Spring Info

Started by YellowJacket!, July 13, 2009, 06:36:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

The other day I came across all teh good info in the tech section of the website.  One of the things was the instructions for the progressive springs. 

The instructions state that if you have air valves, to bleed off the air and NOT pressurize the forks if you use progressive spirings.

Why so?  Do any of you follow that advice?  I have progressives and run my forks at about 7 PSI.  Should I just bleed it to zero?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Brian Moffet

I have progressives, and I took all the weight off the front end, and opened up the valves.  Once they settled (so to speak) I closed them up and left them that way.  Seems to work fairly well, though I think they dive a little more than I would like.

Brian

inanecathode

If i ever bother with the progressive springs (why upgrade when you can straight up just replace it with something modern) i think i'll retain the air functionality. It's just extra spring rate, and they figure with the progressive spring you wont need any air but, im fat so there.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
If you can't tell your friend to kiss your ass then they aren't a true friend.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

treedragon

and just to throw another aspect into the mix there are these  http://www.yss.co.th/pd_valve.php

Same principal as the Gold Valve emulators but cheaper. I think the 26.5mm ones are the correct fit. I am currently checking them out re exact pricing and size.

Cdnlouie