News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Replacing My Clutch Cable

Started by ithinkitsbroke, May 11, 2007, 12:08:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ithinkitsbroke

Can anyone offer any help / tips on installing a clutch cable?  Keep in mind I've never done this before.  Anybody have any helpful diagrams or a how-to?  I searched the board, but couldn't really find anything related...  ???

Check out my internet radio station ~ 88.9 The Buzz - Your Rock Station!

ithinkitsbroke

Help?

Anyone?

Kinda' in a rut and this is a vital process to getting my bike started up, I think.  :D

Night Vision

three things:

there is the adjustment knob on the clutch lever perch that needs to be loosened all the way and the slot that needs to line up with the cable so the cable can slide out....

there is a thin metal (safety) tab on the lever under the case that needs to be bent out.....

and you might have to wedge a screwdriver or wood block on the bottom lever to get some more slack....

that's a tough thing to explain....

routing is kinda tricky too... there is a loop on the frame by the radiator the cable is supposed to go through. I don't use it because I have 83 risers and an 82 cable...

you might have to reroute it a couple of times to figure the best route.... and that means taking one end off or both a coouple of times....

so you get more practice  ;)
if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

ithinkitsbroke