News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

had it for a week ran fine. Now it cuts out when I give gas?????

Started by [jh], May 28, 2007, 09:07:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

[jh]

I just got this bike a week ago, it's my first, I love it. I've been riding it for a week and everything was perfect. All of a sudden it starts to cut out on me during acceleration. I'm a newbie and I don't know where to begin. I went through some basic stuff like draining the tank,checking the filter's. I didn't go much further as I don't really know much about carburetors and I assume thats where the problem is.

Is this a common problem? is it something simple? I hear it's a good bike to have if you like turning a wrench. Any feed back would be nice.  :( :( :(
wow!

reckon

vacuum leak somewhere?  (you said it all of a sudden changed, and started running poorly)

check the YICS hoses, and the unit itself : quick check: pull the hoses, and cap the nipples on the motor, leave everything else alone, and try the bike on a short test run,..if it runs better, you know you have a leaky YICS/hoses.  if not the carb boots are the next usual suspect, with liquid electrical tape working suprisingly well as a fix.

I'd start there and see what that tells you
"if it's stupid but it works, it's no longer stupid"

Night Vision

Quote from: [jh] on May 28, 2007, 09:07:05 PM

..........checking the filter's............

which filters did you check? do you have an inline gas filter?

if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

Lucky

1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

Night Vision

Quote from: Night Vision on May 28, 2007, 09:44:28 PM

Quote from: [jh] on May 28, 2007, 09:07:05 PM

..........checking the filter's............

which filters did you check? do you have an inline gas filter?