News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Quiting smoking is a b!tch.

Started by dj, May 10, 2007, 12:38:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dj

Okay, for all you people out there in ROV land I appologize for being craby.  For some dumb reason I decided to quite smoking and drinking soda in large quantities (2-4 liters per day).

So my head is pounding and I want a cigarette.  So far I haven't blown up at anybody, but I am all alone in the office for the rest of the day.  I am hoping that if I can make it through today that the 3 day weekend will help me to get over the urges.

I have enough to keep me busy at the house, but right now at work I am kinda twiddling my thumbs unless somebody breaks something in the next hour or two.
2008 Honda Rebel (Black)

YellowJacket!

Hi DJ,

Being a Respiratory Therapist, I deal with this a lot.  First and foremost, to be sucessful, you have to WANT to quit smoking.  If someone keeps bugging you and telling you to quit, it just won't work.  Nicotine supplements are OK and help take away the craving, but the use of them long term doesn't help you much.  Yes, you may be able to quit, but you are still ingesting the bad stuff.  Quitting cold turkey is very challenging and has a low success rate but in the end, you relied on yourself rather than medication.
There is one new drug called Chantix that seems to help quite a bit.  Its not a nicotine replacement and its not a anti-depressant like Zyban (wellbutrin).  Basically, Chantix works on the receptors in your brain that make you enjoy smoking.  As you take Chantix and continue to smoke, you will feel sick and or nauseated after a while.  You begin to attribute that feeling to not enjoying the cigarettes and you lay them down and eventually quit because you just don't enjoy smoking any more.