Main Menu

Windshields

Started by ColinthePilot, July 10, 2007, 05:01:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ColinthePilot

So my full fairing doesn't have a windshield. Its black so I wanted a dark low windshield. I bought a big sheet of smoked plexi-glass and I'm planning on making it myself. Im going to make a cardboard pattern and trace it on the plexi then cut it out with a Dremel and a cutting bit.
I'm also not sure if I want to bolt it on or rivet it on. I think the rivets would look cool but there may be drawbacks that I don't know about.
Any suggestions or tips would be appreciated since i've never worked with plexi before
Colin
It pissed me off, so I jammed a screwdriver into it, hit it with a hammer, and spun it around with a pair of vice grips. Let that serve as a warning

dj

If I were you I'd stick with the bolts/screws for the fasteners.  This makes it easier to take the windshield off if you need to.  After awhile dust and stuff will settle down in between the plexi and the rest of the fairing and it is a pain to get at unless you take the windshield off and then it just wipes out.

Just my $.02
2008 Honda Rebel (Black)

Brian Moffet

The originals always had the plastic bolts on them.  The idea was that they would sheer off (or pop off) if you go over the front of the bike.  This would happen, hopefully, before any damage was done to your body by the windscreen.

Just FYI,
Brian

inanecathode

It'll turn into a fixed guiloteen blade if you use steel fasteners.

Sides that, is it going to be a flat straight piece with no bends? Making curves in plexiglass is really easy, specially with a broad thin sheet like you have.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
If you can't tell your friend to kiss your ass then they aren't a true friend.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

kiwibum