Where does the third vacuum hose on 82 Front Carb connect to?

Started by Evan, August 07, 2007, 09:59:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Evan

I have now put 35 miles on the 82 V ("Candy" by name, since she is factory faded red).  It has a fairly good stumble, and it is in part to me not getting all the hoses correct.  I am correcting the hoses, and getting the (new) tubing all set.  Looking at Lucky's diagram, there is a third vacuum connection (very top front of front carb) that I am not sure where it goes to.  I modified the diagram and attached it for clarity.

Where should it be attached to?

dj

I believe that that line is capped off.  Can't remember right off the top of my head, but that is what comes to mind.  I am sure that someone else can answer that with more certainty.
2008 Honda Rebel (Black)

Tanno

Mine's capped. I'm going to use it eventually for a vac gauge.
Industrial Technician by trade -- Curiosity by nature, tinkerer by choice.
"Handle every situation like a dog would. If you can't eat it or screw it; Piss on it and walk away!" -- Unknown

pat sullivan

I believe the line you are referring to is connected to a small air filter and then vented to atmosphere.  It was provided by the carb modification kit that Yamaha released as a fix.  I don't think it should be plugged as it is a vent for the front carb.

Pat S

h2olawyer

Looking at your question on the diagram, Pat Sullivan is correct.  You are looking for a small, grey disc type air filter attached to the right side of the front carb.  That is where the line from the carb top runs to.

H2O
If you have an accident on a motorcycle, it's always your fault. Tough call, but it has to be that way. You're in the right, and dead -on a bike. The principle is not to have any accident. If you're involved in an an accident, it's because you did not anticipate. Then, by default, you failed.

Lucky

it's not a vent.