News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Engine knocking - connecting rod bearing?

Started by cosmohawk, August 16, 2007, 11:34:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cosmohawk

Hey there...and yes, I'm a newbie to this site...first post.

If it's any consolation, I have been reading many posts regarding this topic...but nothing seems to fit my problem...here's the situation.

A guy called me up the other night because he heard that I work on old bikes in my spare time, and he did not want to take the bike to our local Yamaha dealership for problem diagnosis ($$$).  He dropped the Vision off to me the other night, and explained to me what had happened to him while riding.

Basically he was driving the bike (somewhat hard), and then started noticing a slight knocking noise from the bike...started losing power and the engine oil light came on.  He pulled over and shut the bike off immediately.

The engine starts and idles perfectly fine without any knocking or ticking noises now, but if you give it some throttle (and bring the revs up to around 2500 - 300rpm?) it starts making a knocking noise, and the gets progressively worse as the revs increase from there.

Now I've heard this sound before on a EX500 twin that had a bad connecting rod bearing (due to oil starvation / lack of oil / sludge)...so immediately I thought "bad rod bearing".  Then I came here and started searching for "engine knock", and have since perused many a thread about starter clutch / flywheel bolt fixes and the like...but have not yet found any topic regarding an engine knock with increasing revs.

I'm almost 90% sure it's a bad rod bearing from what I've heard...can anyone confirm???

This is my first experience with a Vision.

Thanks, ;)
Mark
New Brunswick, Canada
1986 Yamaha SRX6 (silver - race)
1986 Yamaha SRX6 (red)
1982 Honda Nighthawk 650
1981 Honda CB900F
1989 EX500 Ninja
1982 Honda XR100
1990 Yamaha YSR50
1988 Yamaha DT50
1985 Honda XR250R

Superfly

Hey Mark, and welcome!