News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

fan monitor light thought

Started by Lucky, August 15, 2007, 10:18:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lucky

I'm installing a fan monitor light (12v bulb tapped into the fan plug)

I'm thinking it'd be more noticeable if it flashed, so i thought, use a generic 12v turn signal module.  I'm also thinking i might have to throw in a resistor to make it flash faster than it would by itself with that one tiny bulb.

think a diode would be needed to keep the bulb from completing the curcit?

any thoughts?
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

YellowJacket!

Hmmmmm..
That gives me an idea of what to do with one of the two extra lights on my new digital gauges.  Or, now that I don't need the "idiot lights, I can rewire it for other indicators.  The possibilities are endless.  ;D

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Coil Coyle

Lucky,
          An electronic or motor driven 'Heavy Duty' 2 wire unit will flash OK. You only need the load of multiple lights when the flasher is a bimetal spring switch. They need the current to heat the flasher switch bar enough to bend and 'click'

$0.02
;)
Coil

Tanno

Heavy-duty flashers will flash slower with only one bulb on it. Use a standard flasher and no resistor is needed - this will only dim your light and decrease your flash time. If you want it to flash faster, use an LED (w/ a 820ohm 1/4w resistor inline) instead of a standard bulb.

You could use a 10mm jumbo LED super bright LED and use a 560ohm 1/4w. This would be so low of load on your flasher that the flasher might flash too fast.

Just my 4¢.
Industrial Technician by trade -- Curiosity by nature, tinkerer by choice.
"Handle every situation like a dog would. If you can't eat it or screw it; Piss on it and walk away!" -- Unknown

Lucky

Stupid simple little job kicked my @ss, so i didn't post results last night.