News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Bike quit running? ?UPDATED

Started by Blutoy, July 30, 2004, 06:05:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blutoy

First off this is my first bike and I am still learning about it, thanks in advance for the help.

When I got the bike it had been sitting for about a year. I replaced the battery and cleaned the fuse contacts, it ran good from there. The first time I filled it I added Chevron Techron fuel system cleaner in the tank (I put in enough to treat 6 gallons). I ran the bike around 100-150 miles with no problems. The next time I took the bike out it started fine, but began to die and would not idle. I was at a stoplight and did not want the bike to die so I kept the RPMs up a little. When I put the bike in gear and started to move it, it died, I switched to reserve but it still would not start. I got it home and started checking everything; It is getting fuel and it has a spark but it will not fire. The spark is not as bright as I would have expected but it was blue. I have since then rebuilt the starter, replaced the fuse box, and I replaced the stator connector with posi-lock connectors. The last three items were just things to do, I did not think they would fix the problem.

Any suggestions for what else I should check? Thanks again.

nvdranger